Hugo "Dwimepon" Lucas - Freelance Translator

Do I Pass? by TaylorMcCue

(PC, playable online)

ScreenshotDoIPass

Do I Pass? is a short narrative game by Taylor McCue, created in GB Studio and released in 2019.

You play as a transgender woman who is worried about if she passes or not. With the help of a magical webpage she becomes a ghost and peeks into the minds of others to determine how they feel about her. There are three endings depending on the types of interactions she encounters from other people.

This was my first video game translation project. Everything, from the initial translation to the editing, proofreading and actual implementation into the game was done by me. Transgender issues are always a complicated topic to translate in French considering most of our words are gendered in some shape or form, so despite the game's short length this ended up being quite challenging - not helped by it being a Game Boy rom, meaning character limits for each textbox were extremely strict. It was a great learning experience though, and I'm proud of my work.

Itch.io page

Itch.io page (Original English version)


Back to the main page